Holiday Food for Thought

December 6, 2012 at 7:20 pm Leave a comment

foodforthoughtheaderHolidays can be stressful.  Add to the mix, balancing work with family.  I am considering this Holiday food for thought.  There are two things that I wish for this holiday season – that I not have regrets about the past and that I am open to forgiveness.  In the movie, “Eat, pray, love” there is a scene http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvXCQT1wKS0 where Julia Roberts is dancing with her ex-husband in her mind. It is a powerful scene on forgiveness.  I am struck by the dialogue, “send me love and light every time you think about me and then drop it.  Nothing lasts forever.”  I remember complaining about a workplace environment when I was in my twenties.  A coworker told me that when I left, I would never look back and remember.  She was right.   I don’t want my life to be a bad reality television episode where the characters are continually whining about their problems with others.  I will turn the mirror on myself.  There will always be haters in life.  Misery loves company and it’s easy to get wrapped up in negative energy.  I will walk away if only in my mind and send out love and light and drop it.  I will not reciprocate with anger and lash out.  I will remember that I am a whole and wonderful human being. Bruno Mars sings it brilliantly in this video –“They got nothing on you babe” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PTDv_szmL0 I will not engage in resentment and will speak my truth from a place of love, understanding, and compassion.  I will face reality and not what I want to manipulate or create for myself and others.  I will accept the truth for what it is.  I will be happy and content with what I have.  I will look to the future, one day at a time, with hope and faith.  I will know peace and happiness.

“To the degree that you cannot forgive, whether it be yourself or someone else, you perpetuate lack and limitation in your life. You hold back.

Many people don’t want to forgive others. They say things like: “Why should I let them off the hook after what they did?” The enemy is someone who you think can take from you or harm you. People harm you through yourself. Actually, they don’t harm you at all. You just give them the instructions on how to treat you and they follow through.

When we deal with forgiveness we tend to think that we must forgive because someone has done something to us. It is difficult for many people to realize that people haven’t done anything to you. When you finally realize that you’ve done it to yourself by your responses to them then you are free of it. You are free because you’re not holding onto the person as a source of your problem.”

from Dr. Robert Anthony.

Maturity is the growing awareness that you are neither all powerful nor helpless. It could be said to be the knowledge of what is, what might be, and what cannot be. It is not a destination; it is a road. It is the moment when you wake up after some grief or staggering blow and think, “I’m going to live, after all.” It is the moment when you find that something you have long believed is not so; and, parting with old convictions you find that you are still you; the moment you discover that someone else can do your job as well as you – but you go on doing it anyway; the moment you do the thing you have always been afraid of; the moment you realize that you are forever alone, but so is everyone else; and the hundred moments when you see yourself as you are. It is letting life happen in its own good order and making the most of what there is. It is “Letting go and letting God.”

From The Blueprint for Progress.

Entry filed under: business communication, communicating with others, Customer Service, knowledge, personal growth, Property Management, words. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Drones: A Controversial Eye in the Sky for Property Managers A Christmas Wish For You

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Articles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers


