WORDS ARE POWERFUL!

January 11, 2011 at 1:20 am 3 comments

The focus of my blog has primarily been on interpersonal awareness and growth for the individual property manager or person who works with the public on an ongoing basis.  Years of life experience have brought me to the conclusion that it is vital to have self awareness and communication skills in performing any job that involves human contact.  I was fortunate to have sought out counseling and personal growth early in my career years and it has paid off immeasurably in my communication skills with others.    That being said, the most difficult challenge we face are in our communication skills with others.  Questions such as:  Why doesn’t my boss like me?  Why is my coworker gossiping about me?  Why is that person making my life miserable?  Why don’t certain people like me?  Why can’t I get ahead?  Why can’t I find someone who will love and accept me?  Why am I angry, miserable, lonely or tired?

Learning and growing are life-long pursuits that do not end when the class is over, school ends or one “Ah ha” moment is reached.   I am still learning about myself and my communication skills.   Recently, I found myself becoming angry upon hearing about the shooting rampage in Arizona.  What prompted my anger was the courage of Pima County Sheriff Clarence Dupnik to speak up about what he felt was wrong with our communication.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/video/item/sheriff-dupnik-condemns-rhetoric

What a painful tragedy for all Americans to have lost these bright stars in a blaze of bullets.  My prayers and healing thoughts are with them and their families.

So, I return to the wise philosopher, Socrates, who said “The unexamined life is not worth living.”  I asked myself “why am I angry.”  I discovered that I am angry because I have been silent, not expressing my opinion and listening to the angry, political rhetoric being bandied about as well as misinformation or twisting of the truth and facts by political groups, politicians and the media.   I have even received chain emails from clients and business colleagues with heated political rants about certain racial groups, legislation and political issues.  Business colleagues will approach me and think nothing of giving me their opinion on political subjects they got from a media personality and the internet.    I try to direct them to do their due diligence and research on the subject and not rely on a celebrity media person as the authority on the subject but to no avail.  We all know the experience of working with a person whose mind is closed and there is no way of changing it or bringing new information in.  I am angry because I know from personal  experience that strong rhetoric leads to violence.  I grew up in a dangerous and violent household with family members who were mentally unstable.   “There but for the Grace of God”,  I  was spared and am alive today to write this blog and share my life experience with others.

Because of my past painful life experience, my inherent nature is to be open minded, to weigh the issues, take what I like, what is good for me and useful and leave the rest.  Consequently, I am open to all philosophies, religions,  and people who are striving for peace and a better world.   I believe that it is important to see all sides of every issue, to become educated about the facts and to respect the other person’s opinion.  I may not like them or their opinion, but everyone is entitled to their opinion.  I have a few times changed my opinion on what I believed because someone was able to show me the way to a different way of thinking through intelligent, caring and thoughtful  communication.   What I don’t like is arguing, violence, angry rhetoric – it hits too close to past, painful memories and it shuts down any discourse or understanding.    I also believe that our words are powerful and that what we speak can often come into being in our lives and the lives of others.

What we say and how we express ourselves is monumental in our lives as well as the lives of those we touch.    I am encouraged as well as uplifted by everyone who strives for the best communication outcome with others.   Join me in good thoughts and  prayers for healing and compassion for our Nation and our discourse.

Esther Denn, CCAM® ARM®

 

 

Entry filed under: business communication, communicating with others, Customer Service, knowledge, Marketing, personal growth, political rhetoric, Property Management, violence, words.

Make this year the best Christmas ever! Facing moral or ethical dilemmas in the workplace

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Commercial property acquisition company  |  November 11, 2011 at 3:56 am

    I have a few times changed my opinion on what I believed because someone was able to show me the way to a different way of thinking through intelligent, caring and thoughtful communication.

    Reply
  • 3. josie  |  January 5, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I am just amazed at how well you articulate and how profound your thoughts are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Articles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers


