Have you ever asked yourself the question “What do people see when they see me?

September 8, 2010 at 8:46 pm Leave a comment

Written by Esther Denn, CCAM® ARM®

One of my favorite songs is by Mary, Mary which asks this question http://youtu.be/DgtMHdir_7A.  Tavis Smiley, a favorite talk show host on PBS recently tweeted that we should make our work a calling and labor from the heart and spirit to make a difference in our lives as well as those we touch.  The poet Robert Frost provided a brilliant illustration about choosing the better path in life when he wrote in “The Road Not Taken,”

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, And sorry I could not travel both And be one traveler, long I stood And looked down one as far as I could To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5 Then took the other, as just as fair, And having perhaps the better claim, Because it was grassy and wanted wear; Though as for that the passing there Had worn them really about the same, 10 And both that morning equally lay In leaves no step had trodden black. Oh, I kept the first for another day! Yet knowing how way leads on to way, I doubted if I should ever come back. 15 I shall be telling this with a sigh Somewhere ages and ages hence: Two roads diverged in a wood, and I— I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference.

Life can be an adventure if we let it in both our work and personal lives when we choose to live fully in the moment and share our experience, strength and hope for the greater good with others we meet along life’s pathways.  I would like to encourage all of my readers to find meaning in your work and work with meaning.  Even in times such as these, there are great rewards in front of us when we look for them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Character counts in business and in life! Make this year the best Christmas ever!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Articles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers


