Life happens when you least expect it…

May 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm 2 comments

I received a call from family members that my stepmother Evelyn, in Texas had passed away over the weekend.  I didn’t have time to fully process what that meant to me due to the demands in my life.  I was scheduled to work over the weekend, it was Mother’s Day and I had a financial year- end audit to prepare for with a CPA and a meeting with a client.  It was mid Monday morning before I was able to catch a breath and process what a passing of a life meant to me.  I wanted to write a tribute to the step-mother who was instrumental in giving me that joy of story.  When I was a child, I dreamt of going places I read about in books.  My stepmother breathed life in to my dreams with stories of her life in the English countryside.    When I was an adult, I finally got to travel and live in Europe.   There is no better education than that of travel.   I remember standing on the cobblestone streets of London on a sun grey day and thinking that if I closed my eyes, I would see the little matchstick girl selling her matches.  London was timeless for me with a sense of the past as well as the present.

Now that I am older albeit wiser, I realize that it is important to focus on those important aspects about a person that shape our lives.  It is so easy to become obsessed with what was wrong or what did not live up to our expectations.   I have found that even in the most extreme of circumstances, there is a silver lining if we just look for it.  I would like to share my tribute to my stepmother with you and hope that you find a purposeful meaning for yourself for those moments when life happens when you least expect it.

IN LOVING TRIBUTE TO EVELYN OLIVE MOORE

July 5, 1927 – May 7, 2010

In remembering the past, it is funny how certain thoughts run across your mind.  I can recall numerous times the pride I felt of telling English people I would meet that my stepmother was from England.  I felt a bond with England and its people and cultural traditions through Evelyn and the stories she told us as children.  I have had a love of stories and storytelling all of my life.  I was in my preteen years when Evelyn came into my life.  I remember, my father bringing her and the kids, Debbie, Larry and Junior over to my grandmother’s house and introducing her to my sister, Josie and I as his new wife.  Evelyn reached out to Josie and I and made us feel welcome and part of the family.  After Dad and Evelyn were married, they added David and Diane to the family.  It was a busy household with lots of activity and we were happy to have a large family of brothers and sisters.  Evelyn taught us to cook her favorite dishes while weaving stories of her native land.  I felt nurtured by the good food and caring I received as a young girl.

Today, my life is richer for having known Evelyn.  I have a love of culture and foreign lands.  I love to try new foods and discover new experiences.  I believe I got that from her.  Evelyn was very courageous and brave to leave her home in England and try a new land.  When her first marriage did not work out as she had hoped, she had the courage to take another chance at love and married my father.  My father was not an easy man to live with.  Evelyn was committed to him through the good times as well as the rough.  She worked shoulder to shoulder with him in his many business ventures and she was a good mother to all her children and grandchildren.  Later when she became ill, her children, especially Elizabeth Diane who was named after Evelyn’s mother, stepped up to the plate and became her companion and later her caretaker.  Elizabeth Diane has also inherited her mother’s courage and fortitude for that is what it takes to nurse someone through illness.  It is a tough sacrifice to make and few can do it.  We owe a debt of gratitude to Elizabeth Diane for taking care of our mother during her worst times.

I send my love, good thoughts and prayers to Evelyn in heaven above.  God bless you and keep you within his loving arms.  We will see you again.

With fond remembrance from your loving daughter,

Esther Denn

Entry filed under: Property Management. Tags: , , , , .

Using Quickbooks is a big plus for property management How to take a stand for what you believe in

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda E. Cummings  |  May 11, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Esther, what a lovely tribute. Thank you for sharing this with us. It is an important reminder of what is truly important in both our personal and business lives – our relationships. My condolences for your loss, may you find comfort in your faith and your memories.

    Reply
    • 2. Property Manager's Corner  |  May 11, 2010 at 10:43 pm

      Thank you Linda for reading my blog and for your kind words. You are a good friend and even better business associate.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Articles

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 126 other followers


